Firecracker Salmon

We’ve probably all heard that we should be eating more omega-3 fatty acids. I know it’s one of those nutrition buzzwords (buzz phrases?) that I hear pretty often. My doctor even recommends I take an omega-3 supplement, because she thinks it is that good for me. Luckily, I really like salmon, so it’s no chore for me to include this omega-3 rich food in my diet. I was reading up on the health benefits of salmon, and it sounds like it is a wonder-food.

Omega-3s Better Absorbed from Salmon than Cod Liver Oil Supplement.

The omega-3 fats found in salmon have a broad array of beneficial cardiovascular effects. Omega-3s help prevent erratic heart rhythms, make blood less likely to clot inside arteries (the proximate cause of most heart attacks and strokes), improve the ratio of good cholesterol to bad cholesterol, and prevent cholesterol from becoming damaged. (Only after cholesterol has been damaged does it clog arteries.)

Increases Heart Rate Variability-A Measure of Heart Muscle Function

Protection against Fatal Heart Arrhythmia

Just Two Servings of Omega-3-rich Fish a Week Can Lower Triglycerides
source

I grew up eating a fair amount of fish. One of my favorite childhood pastimes was going fishing with my dad and my grandpa. We would prepare our fish by breading and frying it, so maybe not the healthiest way to prepare it. Now I tend to look for other ways of preparing my fish, baking it most often.

There is nothing quite so satisfying, though, as frying up fish over the campfire that you’ve caught on your camping trip. I will stand by that. πŸ™‚

Barring the battered and fried northern pike, bass, or walleye of my childhood, salmon is probably my favorite fish to eat. Here’s a salmon recipe that I tried and enjoyed recently.

Firecracker Salmon from CDKitchen

Ingredients:
4 salmon fillets
2 tablespoons chopped green onions
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon fresh ginger, peeled and minced
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon kosher or sea salt
3/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

Directions:

Place salmon fillets skin side down in a lightly oiled glass baking dish big enough that they don’t overlap, cover dish with plastic wrap or aluminum foil and refrigerate. Combine all other ingredients in a glass bowl, mix thoroughly, let stand 15-20 minutes and mix once or twice more before pouring over the salmon. Cover and marinate salmon at least one hour in the refrigerator, preferably two.

Preheat oven to 375 F, uncover and bake salmon for about 20 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fillets and preference for doneness.

Serve with a green vegetable and couscous. The liquid from the baking dish can be used as a sauce for the salmon and couscous.

As you can see, I served it with quinoa, sweet potatoes and green beans. It looks like the “firecracker” can be seen a little more prominently than the salmon, but trust me, it’s in there.

What kinds of fish do you like best? How do you prepare it?

7 thoughts on “Firecracker Salmon

  1. It just so happens I have a salmon filet in my freezer. My in-laws caught it when they were in Alaska. I was going to start looking for a recipe. Now I don’t have to! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Salmon Dinner | Be not simply good…

Leave a Reply

