The Clown of God

I find myself again pondering ideas brought up in a book that I read with my children. The Clown of God, by Tomie dePaola, follows a juggler from humble beginnings to the height of fame and back again, with a miracle occurring at the end of the story. dePaola has adapted the story from a French legend.

This is an interesting book in many ways. One point that I keep coming back to is this exchange between the juggler and two monks.

“Our founder, Brother Francis, says that everything sings the glory of God. Why, even your juggling,” says one of the brothers.

“That’s well and good for men like you, but I only juggle to make people laugh and applaud,” Giovanni said.

“It’s the same thing,” the brothers said. “If you give happiness to people, you give glory to God as well.”

Right away, this brings two passages from Scripture to my mind.

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. ~Colossians 3:23-24

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.
~1 Corinthians 10:31

This Colossians passage has helped me stay motivated during mundane work on more than one occasion. I find both encouraging.

It is terrific when we can spend time in meaningful activities, both in our professional and personal lives. Honestly, I think that is something we should seek. However, if at times we feel that the work we do is unimportant, we can recall these verses and realize that whatever we do, we can do it for the glory of God.

I have been pleased to find there are so many great books available for children. I am pleased that there are children’s authors who include substantive ideas in their stories. I am happy to read stories with my children and hear their thoughts on these sometimes weighty subjects and to share my thoughts with them as well.

How do you stay motivated when your task is less than exciting?

Leave a Reply

