Here We Are…

This has been an unusual week in that we have been home all the time. I have done some running, literally and figuratively, but only when my husband was home with the kids. They are working on getting over a virus, so we’ve stayed home all week. Thankfully, they have been a little better each day. It might have been okay to go to our co-op today, but I didn’t want to push it. I’d feel bad if we caused someone else to get sick, and I thought one more day of resting up might be just the thing to get back to normal.

One benefit to homeschooling is that we didn’t miss much school due to this virus. We took one day completely off, but we have gone ahead with school the rest of the week. We do a literature based curriculum, so a big part of our day is spent reading together. We do lessons each day that tie to the story we’re reading. M. and G. each have some workbooks, and they each practice reading to me. I don’t think it’s overly tiring. In fact, I think our school day is a sweet time of bonding over great stories. 🙂

I had such a nice surprise on Thursday when my son read a devotion to me. That book is more advanced than his official school reading, and I was thrilled that he decided on his own to read a more challenging book. He did very well with it. Way to go, G!

So, here we are. Friday is normally our busiest day of the week, but we will be home, reading and resting up just a little bit longer. Unless someone takes a turn for the worse, I think today can be our last day of quarantine.

I will also share my “sweeta fajita” that I made the other night. (Corny? Yes, but I like the rhyme.) My fajitas usually include peppers, onions, mushrooms and sometimes chicken. I decided to try throwing in some thinly sliced sweet potatoes. I’m still working through my stash of sweet potatoes from the CSA. The overall taste was a little bit sweeter than usual, and I liked it, hence the “sweeta fajita.”

Have a great weekend! I hope to be back on Monday with reports of a healthy family and having actually left the house!

6 thoughts on “Here We Are…

  1. “Sweeta fajita”. Sounds tasty 🙂
    Mine Friday is always the most free day in a week. After school I just throw my backpack and go to reading. But in Saturday everything begins over and over again. Too busy, too busy, too busy.
    But, truly, I very like it.

    • Thank you, Tammy. They are feeling so much better, but I think it was a good choice to stay home today. It might have been a bit much for our first day back to the normal routine to be our longest and most tiring day. We’ll start easing back into the routine now.

    • I could do that. I’m curious, are you more interested in our personal reasons to homeschool, or facts and figures concerning different types of schooling? I could share our personal path in pretty short order, but if you’re looking for statistics, I’ll have to dig back into some of the information I read when we were first considering homeschooling. I’d be happy to do that if you’re interested, but it would take longer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

