A Time to Refresh

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:
A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;
A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;
A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;
Ecclesiastes 3:1-4

I think this is a pretty familiar passage of Scripture. After all, it was made into a song in the sixties and quoted in the movie Footloose in the eighties. I loved that part of Footloose, by the way. Go Ren!

This passage crossed my mind with regard to the lovely evening I had earlier this week, a time to rest, a time to connect, a time to be inspired. A time to heal and build up, if you will.

My kids and I are part of a homeschool group. The annual mom’s dinner was held on Tuesday night. It was an evening to relax and visit with other moms in the group, to hear a speaker and to be inspired.

The speaker was Sandy Adler, of Heart of the City Ministries. She spoke about parents’ ability (and responsibility) to create a vision for their family and ideas to live out that vision. It is easy to get caught up in day to day responsibilities and lose sight of the things that truly matter. There are so many things I would like my children to learn, as well as things we need to get done, but I think their character (and mine) matters more than all the rest. I was glad of the reminder to be more intentional, more proactive and less reactive. I need to do my best to be a good role model, and to admit my shortcomings and apologize when I’m not such a good role model.

As you can imagine, I got up the next morning full of great intention to live out my vision for my family. One of the biggest things I want to focus on is for all family members to speak respectfully to each other. That includes word choice, tone, eye contact, and even avoiding interrupting each other. Hmm. I am not sure if my renewed focus just allowed me to see the reality that’s always there, or if we were having a particularly bad day. It is probably the former. Let’s just say we have room for improvement, especially with interrupting. Why is it easier to speak nicely to strangers than to those we hold dearest?

Events like this have been so valuable to me. It has been so important to me as a mother to connect with other moms, to realize that we share a lot of the same challenges, and to support each other along the way. Sometimes, it makes a huge difference just to know you’re not alone. Sometimes, like this week, someone else’s words cause me to see myself through fresh eyes, including seeing areas I need to work on. Sometimes, one simple evening can be so very refreshing.

How do you like to refresh and recharge your batteries?

2 thoughts on “A Time to Refresh

  1. I have to say that Ecclesiastes is mine favourite part of Holy Bible. I can read this over and over again.
    I get up every day with promise that I will work hard. Sometimes I do, but not often. I hope that after my vacations I will work hard for real. I have big ambitions so I have not choice, literally. I would love to go study to London so I have to practice my English all the time.
    When I am going to refresh my batteries, at first I drink liters of coffee. It really helps me. Especially when it’s Irish coffee. Just please, don’t look at me in this way – I am not an alcoholic in my age. I don’t drink alcohol at all. Only in coffee 🙂

    • A vacation ought to be a good way to refresh. It sounds like you have a lot of projects on the horizon, so it’s probably a great time for you to rest, so you can come back and be enthusiastic about your work.

      I think the part of the Bible I’m most likely to read again and again is the Psalms. But there is so much to learn no matter how many times I read any given book of the Bible. I always find something more to think about, or maybe to see in a new way depending on what’s going on in my life. I think it’s the best book there is. And I like books!

Leave a Reply

