Reverse Broccoli Cheese Soup

I was feeling uninspired about cooking dinner the other night, and my husband suggested I make some vegetable soup, knowing we had some raw veggies in the fridge.  The thing is, the vegetables that we had the most of were broccoli and cauliflower.  More often than not, if I make a vegetable soup, I use potatoes, carrots and celery, or perhaps tomatoes and corn with beans, but broccoli and cauliflower?  I have eaten broccoli cheese soup that could more accurately be described as cheese soup with a few bits of broccoli.  I thought I’d try reversing that concept.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Soup

Ingredients:
one small to medium onion, diced
three cloves of garlic, minced
olive oil to coat bottom of sauce pan
vegetable broth – amount depends on desired consistency, but enough to cover the vegetables in the pan
2 cups chopped broccoli
3 cups chopped cauliflower (I used the amount of each that I had on hand.)
pepper, to taste

Method:
Coat pan with olive oil, then cook onion and garlic until soft (not brown).
Add broccoli and cauliflower along with enough broth to cover the vegetables; cook until the vegetables are tender.
Puree in blender or food processor until smooth.
(I wanted a thicker soup, so I didn’t include all the broth when I pureed. You can add enough broth for your desired consistency.)
Serve with pepper and a pinch of shredded cheddar.

I liked it! With the amount of vegetables and broth that I used, it was enough for four bowls with a bit left over. I would make it a little thinner next time, but I thought it was very good. I have to tell you, though, that broccoli is one of my very favorite foods. It’s no surprise that I would enjoy a soup featuring broccoli.

Do you like broccoli? What is your favorite way to prepare it?

2 thoughts on “Reverse Broccoli Cheese Soup

Leave a Reply

