A Day Turned Great

If you read yesterday’s post, you know that I was nervous about my son’s immunizations because of a previous allergic reaction. I’m happy to report – so far, so good. He took Benadryl prior to receiving the immunization and twice more over the course of the day yesterday. There has been no issue thus far, which means it is unlikely there will be. Hallelujah! While we could have opted to skip the immunization, we weren’t really comfortable with that. Given that his reaction had not been severe, we didn’t want to leave him vulnerable to the illnesses that this shot would protect against. I am thankful that every family can choose what’s best for them based on their own medical histories and risk factors.

Beyond that, yesterday was my daughter’s eighth birthday, and she had a very nice day. Because of the Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday, my husband had the day off from work. It was also a day off from school around here, and I decided we’d also take the day off school to do something special. It is always a treat when daddy is home an extra day and certainly lucky to have one’s birthday fall on a holiday!

M.’s birthday party will be held in about two weeks, and she asked if we could go out for lunch today to observe her actual birthday. We went to Old Country Buffet – her choice. I think it’s the mashed potatoes that won her over. There are always mashed potatoes available there.

Then we checked movie schedules to see if there were any family friendly movies playing. We couldn’t (or wouldn’t, I suppose) see Voyage of the Dawn Treader because we are still reading the book together. My husband suggested Secretariat. It’s the true story of a Triple Crown winning racehorse, and as I’ve mentioned before, M. LOVES horses. It sounded like a great choice on her birthday.

This was a fantastic movie to watch with our children. It was not only exciting to cheer for Secretariat in the races, but it also displayed some great values: believing in yourself, taking a risk, and helping your family. I also liked that it featured a strong female lead character. We all enjoyed it.

For dinner, at the birthday girl’s request, I made blueberry pancakes. It’s tradition at our house to have pancakes on birthdays, with the birthday boy or girl choosing how to dress them up. The pancakes are usually served at breakfast, but we were running out the door to the clinic yesterday morning. Oddly enough, we also made some guacamole and had tortilla chips and guacamole. It is admittedly a very strange combination, but what can I say? I let the birthday child direct her special day.

We used the following recipe from Simply Recipes.

Ingredients
2 ripe avocados
1/2 red onion, minced (about 1/2 cup)
1-2 serrano chiles, stems and seeds removed, minced
2 tablespoons cilantro leaves, finely chopped
1 tablespoon of fresh lime or lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
A dash of freshly grated black pepper
1/2 ripe tomato, seeds and pulp removed, chopped

Method
1 Cut avocados in half. Remove seed. Scoop out avacado from the peel, put in a mixing bowl.

2 Using a fork, mash the avocado. Add the chopped onion, cilantro, lime or lemon, salt and pepper and mash some more. Keep the tomatoes separate until ready to serve.

We were making it for immediate consumption, so we put the tomatoes right in. In our version, step two would indicate putting your children to work mashing as you, the adult, chopped up the other ingredients. I love how much my kids enjoy eating things that they helped to make. I guess the satisfaction of a job well done tastes good!

After dinner we read a chapter of Voyage of the Dawn Treader, then the children scooted off to bed. I am beyond thankful that my little guy G. has continued to feel well and has not had so much as a hive. I am happy for my little girl (growing into such a big girl), that she had a nice birthday. I am astounded that it was eight years ago that I first held my baby girl. I feel so very lucky.

What are you grateful for today?

4 thoughts on “A Day Turned Great

Leave a Reply

