Easy Mexican-Style Chicken Soup

Once upon a time, I had a recipe for a soup such as this.  Where that recipe is, I may never know.  I couldn’t find it anywhere among my recipes.  I was hungry for it, though, so I decided to improvise.  The result was tasty, and it was very quick and easy.  You can’t ask for more than that!

Easy Mexican-Style Chicken Soup

Heat a small amount of olive oil or chicken broth in a pot over medium heat. Add one medium diced onion and cook until tender, about five minutes.

Add:
1 can (15 oz) black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can (15 oz) whole kernel corn, drained
1 can (15 oz) diced tomatoes
3 cups chicken broth
2 cooked chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch chunks
1 T cumin
1/4-1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to simmer for at least 15 minutes to combine flavors.

Garnish with chopped fresh cilantro, and serve with tortilla chips, shredded cheese and sour cream as desired. Also pairs well with a salad.

Additional Notes:

I did not have any fresh cilantro, so I sprinkled some dry cilantro over the top of my bowl of soup. Still good, but not as good as fresh.

You may want to taste it and decide if you want more cayenne pepper. If I want my children to eat it, I have to go easy on the heat-factor. I used 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, and my kids were fine with that amount.

This soup provides a perfect opportunity to use up leftover chicken. Waste not, want not.

On the other hand, this could easily be a vegetarian soup. Simply omit the chicken and use vegetable broth in place of chicken broth.

I think a bowl of this soup served with a quesadilla would be a fun twist on the classic tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwich. I will be trying that combination sometime!

One thought on “Easy Mexican-Style Chicken Soup

Leave a Reply

