Sweet Potatoes in Curried Coconut Sauce over Kale

That could almost be a tongue twister, couldn’t it?  It is also a recipe I tried out last week.

As you may know, it has been my recent mission in life to find a variety of recipes for root vegetables.  I am happy to report that I am succeeding in my mission!  Between Roasted Root Vegetables, African Peanut Potato Stew, Carrots Au Gratin, Scalloped Turnips and this new sweet potato recipe, I have been steadily working my way through my roots. 

In another time and place, I would probably be trying to make them last the winter.  However, I know that I can purchase whatever I need from the grocery store later on, and last year I didn’t make it through all my sweet potatoes.  I decided that my main concern is to avoid waste. If I have to (gasp) buy my produce at the store for the rest of the winter, so be it. Truth be told, I am already buying a fair bit of produce, because I can’t live on roots alone.

This sweet potato recipe was in our CSA newsletter, and it comes from the book Vegetables From Amaranth to Zucchini, by Elizabeth Schneider.  I just might have to purchase this book.  This recipe was very good, and a book that mentions amaranth in the title sounds like a good one for us.  Amaranth is another one of those things we’d never had until the CSA. Thus far, I’ve only tried one recipe for amaranth that I have liked.  Anyone else eat amaranth?  But I digress. Another vegetable for another day…

Back to sweet potatoes.  In the mix are sweet potatoes, of course, celery (or celeriac if you have it), green chilis, salt, curry powder, ginger, garlic, and coconut milk.  The sweet potato curry is served over steamed kale.  This was another dish that was pretty spicy for my children.  They tried the sweet potatoes but didn’t eat much.  They did eat the kale just fine.  We had chicken along with this dish, so never fear, they got enough to eat.  🙂   

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potatoes in Curried Coconut Sauce over Kale

Leave a Reply

