Back into the Swing

Happy New Year and Welcome 2011!

I hope you had a good weekend. We had a great time ringing in the new year with family. The kids had fun playing with their cousins and staying up until midnight to toast the new year with “fancy juice” (also known as sparkling grape juice), and the adults played cards, dice, etc. Good times! 🙂

We have been out of our normal routine for the last two weeks, and today we get back into the swing of things. This includes starting back to school with my kids and planning a training schedule for the half marathon in May.

Last night’s dinner was inspired by my choice of beverage on New Year’s Eve. I had limes and fresh mint leaves left from making mojitos, and I thought it would be fun to make a mojito salad. Included in the salad were lettuce, mint leaves, cucumbers, and chickpeas, drizzled with a little olive oil and lime juice. On my first serving, I went way overboard with the lime juice! Oh my, was that sour! I gave it a go with seconds, and with a more conservative squeeze of lime, I thought it was delicious! We also ate up the last of a baguette from the French bakery down the road. Yum!

2 thoughts on “Back into the Swing

    • Kind of crazy, maybe. But I love a good salad and I love to find ways to use up whatever I have left… Too bad it was about 10 degrees. I think you’re right about it sounding summery.

Leave a Reply

