Baking With Abandon

Yesterday we invited the neighborhood children to come over and decorate cookies, while everyone is on break from school. I think creating these memories with our neighborhood friends is well worth the sugar that comes along with it. Besides, who doesn’t like a good cookie once in a while? 🙂

Everyone left with a little box of cookies they had decorated.

On to dinner. I was hungry for sweet potato fries, so I thought it would be a good time to make burgers. I also decided it would be fun to attempt homemade hamburger buns, so I did. I tend to improvise when cooking, but this was my first time doing so with baking. I am pretty sure it was my first time EVER baking something without following a recipe.

Melissa’s Improvised Hamburger Buns

Ingredients:
2 cup white flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 1/3 cup milk

Mix dry ingredients before adding milk. Stir together to form a sticky dough. Knead on a floured surface. It doesn’t require a lot of kneading, but my children sure enjoy helping with this part!

Roll out the dough and cut out circles. Brush with melted butter and sprinkle with sesame seeds if desired.

Bake at 450 degrees for about 15 minutes, or until golden.

Sliced the buns in half when cool.

I made the hamburgers from ground beef, but it would be just as good with turkey burgers or veggie burgers. Paired with the sweet potato fries, it was a tasty treat!

5 thoughts on “Baking With Abandon

    • Ha ha! Yes, my husband called while I was making dinner and asked what I was doing. I told him I was making dinner and had buns in the oven. That, too, came out a little funny. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Chop, Mix, Relax, Enjoy | Be not simply good…

Leave a Reply

