Caribbean Pineapple Chicken

Last night I went looking online for a recipe that called for pineapple and chicken. I asked, and the internet provided a good recipe to try out: Caribbean Pineapple Chicken.

My search turned up this recipe at Out of the Frying Pan, a site I had never seen before. I love that there are so many recipes out there!

Here are some of the ingredients. I had gotten out the flake coconut, thinking I’d incorporate them, but I never did.

I mixed up the sauce, and I sautéed the pineapple. (Is there anything more delicious than fresh pineapple? Yum!)

Then I coated the chicken in flour and browned it for two minutes on each side.

I finished by cooking the chicken in the sauce. Meanwhile, I had rice going in my rice cooker. I don’t have a lot of kitchen gadgets, but I do like my rice cooker. I can get it started and let it be. It switches to a warmer when the rice has finished cooking.

The recipe suggested a particular recipe for a coconut rice. I didn’t look at that recipe. Instead, I decided to make my own version of a coconut rice with things I had on hand. I had a little bit of coconut cream left from a breakfast recipe, so I mixed that into the cooked rice. It was about 3 T of coconut cream. I also mixed in 1 T of ground ginger and 1 t of cinnamon.

We added a salad to the meal, and we were pleased with the result.

My husband asked me if this was a Jamaican recipe. I told him it was called ‘Caribbean,’ and our daughter asked what that meant. My husband broke out the globe and showed her the Caribbean Sea and various islands located there. Dinner turned into a bit of a geography lesson. Then we started dreaming about a Caribbean vacation. Ahhh. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Caribbean Pineapple Chicken

  1. Ahh, I’m dreaming of a caribbean vacation right along with you! I love that I had a white Christmas, but I’m done with the snow now and it can turn 75 degrees for the whole next year please!

    Dinner looks yummy!

    • Ha! I’ve often said that it would be okay if we have snow only during the month of December. My kids love the snow, though, so it’s hard for me to wish it away now.

Leave a Reply

