How Far Will You Go?

This is a catch-phrase of the Fargo Marathon. Get it? 😉

That is exactly the question I am trying to answer for myself. How far will I go? I have two major questions answered: Do I have somewhere to sleep for the marathon weekend? Yes. (Thanks to my sister-in-law and brother-in-law!) Is my husband willing and able to be with our children if I go? Yes. (Thanks, honey!)

That only leaves, “How far will you go?”

I am debating between the 10K and the half-marathon. You see, I have never run more than ten miles at a stretch, so the 10K feels like a safer distance. Perhaps even more notable is that twice now, while following a training schedule, I have hurt something right about when I reached the ten mile long run, once a knee and once an ankle. I worry that I just can’t do longer distances.

I am trying to make my decision now, so that I can register before December 31st. The price is about to go up, and I’m trying to watch out for our budget while I’m at it.

Any thoughts? What would you do?

I’ll just add, this marathon is only a few years old, and it has already become HUGE! The atmosphere is great! People come out in droves to cheer on the runners, and there are bands playing here and there along the route. Good times! Check it out if you’re in the area. 🙂

5 thoughts on “How Far Will You Go?

    • Thanks for the encouragement! Don’t get me wrong… I’ll need to build up to a 10K if that’s my choice. I could not go out and run one tomorrow, but I have run that distance in the past without issue.

      I’m all for some mutual moral support. 🙂 Good for you for taking on the 10K! 🙂

  1. I think if you have run 10 miles before and have the time to train, you should go for the half. I have never trained for a race, but most of the time the long runs for those trainings are 10 miles or so from what I can tell. Plus, if its a fun and motivating race, you would likely handle the bit of extra mileage fine. I say go for it!

  2. Pingback: The Big Weekend is Here! | Be not simply good…

Leave a Reply

