Roasted Root Vegetables

As I mentioned in last Friday’s post, I have a LOT of roots at this time of year. Here is a really simple, and delicious, way to prepare your root veggies!

Use a combination of root vegetables. All of the following work well: potatoes, sweet potatoes, turnips, parsnips, celeriac and beets. One thing I like about this dish is that I can make it with whichever root veggies I have on hand. In my experience so far, any combination tastes good together. This is what I included in my most recent batch.

Peel and dice your roots, adding diced onion and minced garlic to taste. I used three small onions and two cloves of garlic.

Toss with a little olive oil, salt, pepper and rosemary. Place in a 9 x 13 pan – spray the pan with non-stick cooking spray first – and bake at 350* for about 45 to 50 minutes, or until tender. I have found that ovens vary, so check your veggies at about 30 minutes and adjust cooking time as needed.

This was the first time that I included beets in the mix. I thought they were a good addition. My biggest complaint about beets:

Maybe one day I’ll wise up and use gloves when handling very spicy foods or those that stain my hands. 🙂

I recently ran across a recipe that sounds like a great variation to the roasted root vegetables. Brittany, at A Healthy Slice of Life, shared a similar dish that included chicken. I haven’t made it with chicken yet, but I plan to. I will probably toss in some sweet potatoes, turnips, etc. when I make it, just because I have them.

With foods shipped from all over the world, we no longer must change the way we eat over the winter. Even so, I do like to choose a lot of our food from local and seasonal choices. Using our CSA boxes has certainly encouraged this. During the CSA season, I really don’t buy many other produce items, because I wouldn’t be able to use it all up. This has meant eating very differently in May, versus July or September or December. I have really enjoyed this experience.

Do you find yourself eating different things over the winter? What are your favorite winter foods?

5 thoughts on “Roasted Root Vegetables

    • Yes, I think colorful meals are fun. I suppose they tend to represent a variety of nutrients, too. Sometimes we end up with a very monochromatic meal, and it somehow doesn’t seem right to me.

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potatoes in Curried Coconut Sauce over Kale | Be not simply good…

Leave a Reply

