African Peanut Potato Stew

Last night I made a big pot of African Peanut Potato Stew. I got the recipe here: http://fatfreevegan.com/blog/2010/02/25/african-peanut-potato-stew/

At this time of year, I have a lot of sweet potatoes from the CSA. I do enjoy the typical Thanksgiving style sweet potatoes – a casserole baked with brown sugar crumble – but that’s not how I want to eat my sweet potatoes on the other 364 days of the year. This recipe is a good way to enjoy sweet potatoes in a different way. Plus, it includes chickpeas, which are a favorite of mine!

Yum! Yum! Yum!

After dinner, I made a beeline for the television to watch “The Biggest Loser.” I had never seen it until last season, but I quickly became a fan. I don’t watch it every week, but I have seen it often enough that I wanted to see last night’s finale! I also got to see last week’s episode. Talk about inspiring! I have been running for a little more than two years, and I haven’t run farther than ten miles in one stretch. Seeing the four finalists run a marathon was awesome! I don’t even know them, but I feel proud of them!

The transformations are amazing! I like hearing the contestants talk about the fact that they’ve begun a new lifestyle. I am not a fan of the whole “going on a diet” idea. A lifestyle that includes eating healthy foods and being active sounds more enjoyable, more sustainable, and probably more healthy as well. Congratulations to Patrick and all the other contestants! You have inspired many!

Do you ever watch “The Biggest Loser”? What do you think of the show?

5 thoughts on “African Peanut Potato Stew

  1. Thank you SO much for reading my blog – your blog’s name gives me a sense of peace :).
    I WISH I had the patience to prepare stews and such :(…I always have such lovely ingredients, but always end up throwing it all together with chicken and squash or something in a big stir-fry and smothering it in spaghetti sauce…:(. Always.

    Good, but not always so good on the tummy really. I so need to jump out of my comfort zone. But so late at night – 8 p.m I usually eat dinner (I know, I suck), I just go with the usual.

    Oh – I used to like TBL . But really not a fan anymore. Too much drama for me. But then again, most reality shows are – so is life! I do give them credit for the amazing transformations and just hope the majority stay with it! Any change for the better is good.

    • You’re welcome; I was happy to see it. 🙂 I enjoy cooking, a little baking, and I love books! The name of your blog makes me smile. Likewise, thank you for checking out my blog.

      And for the record, I like a good stir fry!

    • CSA stands for Community Supported Agriculture. We signed up to get a weekly box of produce from a nearby farm. It’s a great way to buy local. I wrote about our CSA experience more in this post: https://benotsimplygood.wordpress.com/2010/11/17/the-csa/

      You can read more about it if you’re interested. 🙂

      I never knew of Jillian until after watching The Biggest Loser. I have purchased some of her workout DVDs after seeing the show. I like her too.

  2. Pingback: Sweet Potatoes in Curried Coconut Sauce over Kale | Be not simply good…

Leave a Reply

