Silly Rabbit, Trix are for kids!

Or, in this case, birdseed is for birds! This squirrel doesn’t seem to understand that.

Don’t mind me. I’m cute, and that’s all you need to think about.

How will I get the birdseed out? Oh, don’t worry about that. I’ve chewed the plastic to make a larger opening. See, I can fit my head inside. Yes, I am pretty smart. Thank you for noticing.

I keep a birdfeeder outside the window in my dining room. We spend a lot of time at the table, working on schoolwork or art projects, playing with Play-Doh, and of course, eating. We enjoy seeing the birds that come to eat: chickadees, wrens, finches, nuthatches, downy woodpeckers, and the occasional bluejay and cardinal.

We used to have a lot of gray squirrels bothering our bird feeder, and I would shoo them away. A few years ago, I got a “squirrel-proof” feeder. It is designed with an outer cage that will slide down if something too heavy is on the feeder. The decorative leaves will cover the openings when the cage slides down. It has worked beautifully until this year.

We have this new little red squirrel coming around. He is a lot smaller than the gray squirrels we’ve seen in the past. He does not cause the cage to slide. He has also chewed at the plastic to make the opening even larger. I have shooed him away several times, but he’s just so cute. And the snow is so deep. Poor little guy is probably having a harder time finding food. I’m torn.

What would you do? Feed the squirrel, knowing you will go through WAY more seed, or shoo him away?

He is pretty cute. Enjoy:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

