The CSA

In 2009, my husband and I decided to join a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture). We get a weekly box of produce from a relatively nearby farm. We have tried a whole variety of vegetables, some of which we had never heard of before. It has been great!

We are welcome to visit the farm anytime. We are also welcome to come and work the farm if we want to! We have camped on the grounds a few times. We have met the farmers and are familiar with their farm practices. We know that our farmers strive to grow a variety of crops in a natural and sustainable manner. That means a lot to us!

Being part of the CSA has been a catalyst, leading to other changes in our shopping and eating habits. We have become more particular about our meat and dairy choices as well. We don’t by any means buy all organic foods. This is all a work in progress as we seek a balance between our budget, our health and our ethics. We have definitely found that choosing food is not a simple matter. It is another area in which I think my choices really matter, not only for me and my family, but also for our local economy and perhaps the food industry in general.

What, if any, changes have you made in food choices as you work toward a healthier you?

5 thoughts on “The CSA

  1. You are very right about your choice being good not only for your health but also for the economy. I’ve been in a CSA for about 4 years now and really believe that it stretches my food dollar. I love that I’m spending my $ locally and that it’s paying a farmer as opposed to paying a health care provider down the road when we’re sick from eating bad food.

    • I’m glad to hear you are happy with your CSA experience as well. I absolutely agree that I enjoy supporting a local farmer. As an added bonus, the produce has been so good! Fresh and local even tastes better, at least that has been our experience with many items.

  2. Pingback: Good for me… good for the world, Happy Earth Day! | Be not simply good…

Leave a Reply

