On Running

It was 2008.  I wasn’t exactly unhealthy.  I wasn’t unhappy.  I suppose you could say I was ‘good’.  One weekend, I went to cheer on some of my in-laws as they ran a relay marathon.  The team included my father-in-law, who had recently turned sixty.  I was so inspired by him, and frankly, I was a little disappointed in myself.  Why was I sitting on my couch when my sixty year old father-in-law was training for, and running, a relay marathon?  I suddenly felt I was squandering my good health and capable body.  It dawned on me that 2008 marked fifteen years since my heart surgery that truly gave me license to be active.  Fifteen years prior, yes, I did have limitations, but not anymore!  Why waste this chance to be active and healthy?  That week I started the Couch to 5k program and ran my first 5k that summer.  I’m still not as consistent as I’d like to be with running, but it is something I enjoy and try to make a regular part of my life.

I’ve come to believe that having a strong, healthy body is valuable and a worthy goal.  I can better participate in my own life when I am in good shape.  I have more energy, and I am better able to keep up with my children and meet my responsibilities.  Surely fitness is a good place to start as I strive to be not simply good, but to be good for something!

How has fitness benefited you?  What do you look forward to achieving or experiencing as you work toward a healthier you? 

3 thoughts on “On Running

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Be not simply good…

  2. Pingback: Long time, no blog | Be not simply good...

  3. Pingback: Happy Happenstance | Be not simply good...

Leave a Reply

