Coincidence

I wish I could remember all the times when I read an article or passage of Scripture that absolutely spoke to me exactly where I was. There have also been numerous times when I heard a song that was perfectly suited to my situation.

Sometimes these coincidences speak words of comfort, sometimes conviction, sometimes simply let me know I am not alone in my particular situation.

Coincidence is defined as follows:

co·in·ci·dence
[koh-in-si-duhns]

noun
1.
a striking occurrence of two or more events at one time apparently by mere chance: Our meeting in Venice was pure coincidence.

2.
the condition or fact of coinciding.

3.
an instance of this.

I am not convinced that all these occurrences are mere coincidence. I think they may be one way that God speaks to us.

I recently shared a Maya Angelou quote that I appreciate. “When you know better, you do better.”

The very next Bible study I attended included the following:

You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.
~Ephesians 4:22-24

Another way of reminding me to keep moving forward and doing better as I learn. Whether providential, or simply coincidence, I appreciate these moments, and I think this message is worth repeating.

2 thoughts on “Coincidence

  1. Amen! One thing I have learned over the last several years is that when these things do occur, it is important to take note of them. I don’t believe in coincidence. I’ve tried to learn to lean into them although it’s not always logical.

  2. After posting this, I also had a devotion come up that mentioned “there’s no such thing as coincidence.” I wonder how often I miss these things. It seems like I’m meant to give more attention to these occurrences. I’m at the point of “coincidentally” running across the concept of coincidence (or the lack of coincidence).

Leave a Reply

