Do Better

“When you know better, you do better.”
~Maya Angelou

I’ve been seeing this quote a lot lately, and it resonates with me. I’ve heard that ignorance of the law is no excuse. Maybe that is the case when it comes to law enforcement, but if you ask me, an intentional wrong is something altogether different from an act of ignorance or an accident.

When I look back over my own choices, certainly there are things I would do differently if I had the chance. I am a work in progress and expect I always will be. We are all learning throughout our lives. At least I hope we are. It would be a shame, in my opinion, to consider oneself complete with no room for further knowledge or improvement.

If you are beating yourself up because you’ve had a change of mind or heart about something in your life, please stop. Now that you know better, you will do things differently. That’s all you can do. If you have wronged someone, you can apologize and seek forgiveness. You can and should forgive yourself. You can’t change the past. You can only change how you approach things going forward.

2 thoughts on “Do Better

  1. Pingback: Coincidence | Be not simply good...

Leave a Reply

